Eating the elephant…

…one bite at a time.

I don’t think I could train for a race in 7 months without setting myself some interim targets.  That’s what I’d do in marathon training, and that’s what I’m doing for the Transrockies.   Rather than seeing it is 7 long months stretching out, I want something to aim for in the short term.  As well as helping me judge my fitness, it adds some variety to the training (I remember how bored I got doing the same old routes last time).  And we’ll get to meet up with some of the folks we met in 2009.

So, Mark and I have entered (almost) a bunch of enduro events between now and the BIG DAY:

  • CRC  Spring Marathon, Builth Wells, 10th April
  • Dyfi Enduro, Machynlleth, 1st May (hopefully)
  • Bucks Off Road Sportive, 15th May
  • CRC Marathon, Llandovery, 22nd May
  • Torq RoughRide, 12th June
  • And a new one for us, a 3-day event in the Black Mountains in Wales, 1- 3 July (I love that it’s organized by “the bearded man”)

Add to that 3-day back-to-back rides around 20th July, and you can see some semblance of a plan coming together.

Before I trained for the 2009 TR, I’d never done an organized bike race.  Mark and I did 3 or 4 these events in 2009, and it was a good decision…riding in a race (even if you’re not racing it) takes some getting used to – the feeling that you holding up faster riders, or being held up, keeping to your pace plan and feeding plan etc etc.

I have to say, putting the Torq (formerly Marin) Roughride on there fills me with dread…we hated it in 2009 – long, boring, and unrewarding.  We told ourselves that it was good training…but it really wasn’t fun…I just hope the course is better this year!

Now those dates are set, I can start to build the plan around them, always trying to stick to the 2 hard week – 1 easy week plan.  As well as biking in wind and rain this weekend (if the forecast is right), that’s what I’ll be doing this weekend.

This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eating the elephant…

  1. thefitwriter says:

    Very helpful blog post. Now I will know when my husband is going to be around/not – can never quite rely on the home calendar 😉

    Have fun! See you at the press junket I mentioned 😀

Leave a Reply

