And Stretch…..

A little niggling knee pain today has reminded me that I take what could be called a very casual approach to stretching.  (Is that spelled right??  One of those words that just looks weird to me!  Anyhoo…..).  Thanks to the wonders of the Interweb, I’ve diagnosed* it as Pes Anserine Bursitis/Tendinopathy – inflammation of the tendon at the end of three long leg/groin muscles where they join at the top of the shin. or the bursa underneath, or both.

*Don’t worry…I’m not really that stupid…I’ve had this before and had it properly diagnosed by a proper real person with proper real medical qualifications and experience and everything.

Anyway, we all know the cure (and better yet, prevention!) is stretching…..I confess, I’m pretty lazy about it.  My physio always nags me to do more but like many (most?) people, I do it when I have an injury, and for a few weeks after the injury has gone away, but then I forget why I was doing it and…..well, you know how it is when time is tight…what’s more tempting:  a turbo session quickly followed by a shower and food (not at the same time, obviously), or delaying dinner for 15 mins to fit in some stretching?

As this week is an easy week for me, I opted to drop tonight’s run and spend 30-40 minutes stretching instead – mostly hamstring, groin and quads.  My left hamstring was/is tight compared to the right, so clearly it was needed.   I’ve got a nice program of about 25 different stretches, each one held for 30 seconds…and when time is really tight (or dinner is calling), I can cut it down to about 7 or 8 key ones.

So…from now on, I’ll stretch after every turbo session and every ride.  I will.  Honest.

This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And Stretch…..

  1. Shambler says:

    I will be checking up on you……..

Leave a Reply

