Into the home straight

5 weeks today I leave for the long trip to Fernie, ready for the start of the TransRockies X.  That means I have just 4 more big weekends of training.  Am I going to be “ready” (whatever that means)??  I don’t know, but I do know that by the end of this Friday, I’ll have done as much training as I did in total for the TransRockies 09…and still with those 4 weeks training to go!

I think it’s fair to say that both Mark™ and I have struggled for motivation a bit in the last couple of weeks.  I don’t know about you, but I’m getting to the point where I find that getting up on a Saturday and Sunday morning and knowing I’m facing 5 or 6 hours on a bike is a bit wearing!!  I think part of it is that I tend to end up doing the same 7 or 8 big routes at the weekends.   (I know that probably sounds a bit bonkers, given that there are infinite mountain biking possibilities in the UK, it’s just not always that practical to go off somewhere new).

So, I need ideas to keep me motivated for the next 4 weeks.   Last Sunday, to keep the ride interesting, I set myself two goals: 1. Break my PB for the first big climb of the Skyline trail in Afan Argoed, and 2. doing the whole of Skyline and The Wall without using the granny ring…and hit both targets (37:40 is my new PB).

This weekend is sorted…I’m doing the Bearded Man Black Mountain 3 day race.  I’m really looking forward to it – it’s like a mini-TransRockies: a very short time trial on Friday evening, tent village living on Friday and Saturday night, and 65km routes on Saturday and Sunday round the beautiful Black Mountains in South Wales.  Plus there’s two big bonuses…they have a beer sponsor*, and (tempting fate here) the forecast is looking good (for Wales!).

But after that, I’ve got 3 weekends training…I know exactly where I’ll be, but how do I  keep the rides interesting?  

*not that I drink beer anymore. obviously….my body is a temple (ahem)

This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Into the home straight

  1. evo says:

    That sounds like quiet confidence – you’ll be kicking ass in the black mountains at the weekend.

    I’m very excited about BM3 and as you say the forecast is looking good. having just taken a look at the gpx on google earth – there is lots of access track so pace will be much too fast.

    we should try to meet up for a beer. i’ll have my son and his girlfriend in tow as volunteers so you shouldn’t be able to miss me – we’ll the ones bickering all the time. But they are part of may cunning plan for podium glory – i’ve persuaded them to direct everyone (but me obviously) in the wrong direction.

    just a small matter of the greater manchester XC series tomorrow evening, a morning in the office and a long drive down to talybont – will be exhausted by the time i get to the start of the TT on friday.

    neil

    • Richard says:

      I think you might be mis-understanding my riding…you’ll notice I don’t mention doing XC racing for example!!
      I’ll keep an eye out…shouldn’t be too hard, as there’s only 100 riders I think. looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

